Mapping the Sheltowee Forum Index Archive home

Mapping the Sheltowee
A Guide for the Trails in the BSF and DBNF

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist      Big Turtle Photo Club    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Day 5 - Alum Ford Campground to Barren Fork horse camp

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Mapping the Sheltowee Forum Index -> Sheltowee Wanderer
View previous topic :: View next topic  
sheltowee wanderer
on trail
on trail

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2005 4:40 pm    Post subject: Day 5 - Alum Ford Campground to Barren Fork horse camp Reply with quote

I woke to the smell wood smoke and cooking bacon. A family was camped across from me and was busy making breakfast. They invited me to come over and eat with them and without a whole lot of arm twisting I did. Leroy, like I was a veteran, and we talked at length about some of our experiences in the military. The combination of wood smoke from the previous night and this morning was having some adverse effects on my right eye and I found my self trying to ignore the pain, however, the tears streaming down my face did little to hide my problem. I secretly patted myself on the back for remembering to bring my contact lens case and a pair of glasses. They offered me more of their homemade bacon and toast but I had to refuse because I was full and did not want to start a day of walking with a belly full of grease.